CBSE Class 11 | Number System

Number system

Number system are the technique to represent numbers in the computer system architecture. Every number system includes a set of unique set of characters or literals. It is a way to represent numbers in different forms.


Types of Number System

There are various types of number systems in mathematics. The four most common number system types are:

1. Decimal number system (Base- 10)

2. Binary number system (Base- 2)

3. Octal number system (Base-8)

4. Hexadecimal number system (Base- 16)


Decimal Number System (Base 10 Number System)

The decimal number system has a base 10 because it uses ten digits from 0 to 9. In the decimal number system, the positions successive to the left of the decimal point represent units, tens, hundreds, thousands and so on. This system is expressed in decimal numbers. Every position shows a particular power of the base (10).

Total digits : 10
Digits used :0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9
Base : 10


Binary Number System (Base 2 Number System)

The base 2 number system is also known as the Binary number system wherein, only two binary digits exist, i.e., 0 and 1. This system are known as binary numbers which are the combination of 0 and 1. For example, 110101 is a binary number.

Total digits : 2
Digits used :0,1
Base : 2


Octal Number System (Base 8 Number System)

In the octal number system, the base is 8 and it uses numbers from 0 to 7 to represent numbers. Octal numbers are commonly used in computer applications..

Total digits : 8
Digits used :0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7
Base : 8

Hexadecimal Number System (Base 16 Number System)

In the hexadecimal system, numbers are written or represented with base 16. In the hex system, the numbers are first represented just like in decimal system, i.e. from 0 to 9. Then, the numbers are represented using the alphabets from A to F.
The below-given table shows the representation of numbers in the hexadecimal number system.